Arcturus

Plastidipping

So i 'm planning on redoing the paint job on my new goblin iron/nature sword as it flaked off almost entirely last game (damn you cold weather/long curing times!) and i want to do it right this time. Therefore, as per Dave's advice, i want to put a black plastidip base layer on the sword, THEN paint over then and seal it w/ through the roof. The sword is an epicarmoury Dark Elven Longsword for reference; your basic foam latex weapon.

So my questions are:

1) Do you have to put a spray adhesive on underneath the plastidip layer? I understand that plastidip will happily peel off with enough abuse and i'd rather not have to go through painting this a third time.

2) If so, what kind of adhesive is best? general purpose or a more specialized kind?

3) How many coats of plastidip is appropriate? I've never done it before so i'm unsure.

4) how long should i let the plastidip cure for before i start painting it?

5) Is acrylic paint good enough to use in this case? I very much want to avoid cracking.

6) How many coats of through the roof do you guys use to seal your weapons?

I'm going to forward you to the facebook group associated with this as they have a lot of helpful FAQs and guides, visual aids, and overall good at answering questions posted (as long as you use the search bar first).

https://www.facebook.com/groups/plastidip/

but in order, here's my experience:

1)Yes, adhesive will help, otherwise it can peel off.

2) People use 3M spray adhesive for ease of application, but some people have said they use DAP. Since you're doing this over a sword that is already complete either should work, if you're making a sword from scratch you have to be careful.