Jump to content
ubergeek2012

Errata Questions

Recommended Posts

Hi Bob & Company,

 

I have a few questions about inputting multiple effects into single items, as an Ornamentor (All of these questions assume that the ornamentor can legally cast the spell in question, has enough craft points & levels in ornamenting to make the item, and that questions involving multiple items are all worn on the same person).

 

First, I just wanted to double-check about imbibing multiple spells into an item. If a buyer wanted a shield made that could cast mend armor 2x per day, that it would not fall under the updated Loot section above?

A single item that casts the same spell multiple times is legal.

 

Also, it seems from reading the updates from a layman's stance, the shield example would be different from say, having bracers and sandals made, which could each cast mend armor separately. If I read the rules correctly, it would seem that the bracer/sandals combo would not be acceptable. Would this rule also be extended to wands and rods; i.e. is it acceptable for a player to carry 2 wands of heal body?

The bracers/sandals combo would not work. Rods work like tomes and do not cast the spells themselves, so they do not conflict with other items. Wands are treated like consumables such as scrolls or potions in a more concentrated form. They also do not conflict with other items.

 

And one quickie about putting production/craft/power points into an item. Barring a master craftsman, it looks like a craftsman could put 2+1 MP into an item for 18 craft points. But would a craftsman be able to put 1+1+1+1 production point into an item, for a cost of 16 craft points, or is it based on a total going in (versus 2+2 production, total cost = 18 craft points)?

The property does not stack with itself or higher versions of itself.

 

(One more for this giant wall-o-text, apologies) From what I understand the introduction of craft points is a fairly new adjustment to the game. What happens to numbered items already in game that provide +x production points, back when production points worked for everything? Do those items convert also into craft points as needed? For example, if an armor/weapon/trapsmither buys or trades for a light helm that gives +1 production, can the helm be used towards the smithy's craft, or is it now only good for alchemy & potion-making?

Older items continue to provide production points, not craft points.

 

 

Thanks in advance for your consideration/ponderation/answerization

Mike

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question that was probably answered in the overlapping effects section but here it is anyway.

 

Can you wear multiple items of armor that have enhanced armor properties so long as your total armor bonus does not exceed 7?

 

Example: A character wears cloth pants and a cloth vest and a light helmet (for a total of one point of armor). Can said character wear +2 armor pants, +2 armor vest, and +2 armor helmet to increase his total armor count to 7? Or would this be incorrect because multiple items are giving you the same kind of bonus?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+ Armor enchantments do not stack with each other or the enhance armor spell. It may not cause base armor value to exceed 5, but it applies to all armor worn. This enchantment will not cause armor to become monstrous.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The errata says:

+ Armor enchantments do not stack with each other or the enhance armor spell. It may not cause base armor value to exceed 5, but it applies to all armor worn. This enchantment will not cause armor to become monstrous.

 

http://kingdomsofnovitas.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1177

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Elrohir Amandil

Ok, hopefully I've checked the errata well enough this time. It seems that bows can be used to spell strike arrows and bolts. Do other effects carry over from bow to arrow, such as a magic bow shooting magic arrows, a fire bow shoot fire arrows, etc.? Or do you need to make magic arrows, fire arrows, silver arrows and so on?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does this mean if you make elven steel arrows.... but have a bow that deals fire damage, you can call Elven Steel Fire?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does this mean if you make elven steel arrows.... but have a bow that deals fire damage, you can call Elven Steel Fire?

 

No to this, but yes to magic bow shooting magic arrows.

 

if you have a choice, you have to choose one, you can't just mash them together. There's a magical goblin iron sword floating around, or was. When you swing that you have to choose to clal poison or magic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×