Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
James

Ablative armor

Recommended Posts

Does it stack with enhance armor? Is it restored with mend armor the way enhance armor does?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does it stack with enhance armor? Is it restored with mend armor the way enhance armor does?

 

Yes, it stacks with Enhance armor...

 

Enhance armor is casted on armor you're wearing, for +1.

Ablative armor is similar to magic armor, except it's +2 monstrous.... No it cannot be mended.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tony is correct.

 

Additionally Ablative armor only applies on top of your actual armor, unlike magic armor which is applied everywhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It adds +2 monstrous armor on top of physical armor ( not magic armor) it cannot be mended and they are the 1st 2 pts of pgysical armorto be hit. ( magic armor goes 1st then if hit in an armored spot the ablative goes next.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They come off first, before Magic Armor. Only exists in terms of coverage where you already have armor coverage.

 

It used to be "Two No Effect calls when damage would have been taken" and was adjusted because the No Effect calls were causing issues in combat flow.

 

It could be worded better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it actually lists that its removed first...or it did. I always assumed because its magical it didn't stack with enhance armor...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It would make more sense if it was affected after the Magic Armor. I imagine Magic Armor is like an energy shield around you, and it prevents your physical armor from getting hit. If you were a spaceship, those are your shields and your physical armor is your hull. Ablative Armor is an Enchantment spell that affects your physical armor. It's not a magic shield surrounding you, it's a spell that temporarily hardens your armor.

 

From a "Novitas Physics" standpoint, it should come after the Magic Armor. From a "Rules Balance" standpoint, I guess it makes sense that it goes down first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is easier as a combat rule when it comes off first.

 

We had a similar discussion regarding monstrous creatures and soft armor. We finally concluded simplicity should win the day and have spent some time teaching it that way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Generally, higher level spells occur before lower level spells, and immunities trump spell level.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can ablative armor be cast on a person who is not wearing any physical armor, granting them 2 monstrous armor points?

 

Never mind. Just red the spell. "If the character is wearing no armor, or only costume armor, then the spell has no effect. It also has no effect if the character is wearing only a helmet." So that'd be a no.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×