Jump to content
Baazorg

Great Weapon Question

Recommended Posts

The rules say that great weapons may be used defensively in one hand. This got me thinking.

 

Would it be permissible to use my greatsword strictly as a parry blade, wielding a 1-hander in the other hand offensively? And if so, would it require the dual-wielding skill?

 

 

Or is this rule in place simply so that if I lose an arm, I am not completely defenseless and can still block?

 

I am not looking to skirt rules or loophole, just looking to try a different fighting technique utilizing the weapon I already have.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I heard that Corbin duel wielded great weapons when he went to the Well to retrieve Atticus' spark.

 

>__>

 

 

<__<

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's my understanding that, in order to use your off hand effectively while blocking with a great weapon, you have to be a weapon master (or max out dual wielding?).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I heard that Corbin duel wielded great weapons when he went to the Well to retrieve Atticus' spark.

 

>__>

 

 

<__<

TROOF.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's my understanding that, in order to use your off hand effectively while blocking with a great weapon, you have to be a weapon master (or max out dual wielding?).

I actually do not think a rule exists governing this currently. I know that this was being play-tested but I don't think an official change was made. I don't think anyone should be using great weapons/dual wield this way until Rules weighs in. (Dan? Anyone? Was this moved to the active Rules set?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We're currently playtesting how safe/broken fighting with a greatweapon in one hand as a block stick while still attacking with the other hand is. We're using weapon masters to limit the playtest pool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now that it is brought up, I am also curious of the answer. . .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still weapon master only, and can't hold two weapons in one hand (think of two hand poking with spear while also holding sword with one of your hands, that's not allowed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×