Malhaku

Hello! KoN Newbie here

Hello all,

Since going to Gen Con last month I've been chomping at the bit to experience Larping again. Back in the day, I was a semi-regular at COS Quest down in Pittsburgh. However, this was a decade ago at this point. Looking around a bit online, KoN seems to line up the best with my experience and interests. I'm thinking of coming out for the October event and NPCing it up.

Before I launch into my questions, me! My name is Jeremy and I'm located in Rochester. My username, Malhaku, is actually the name of my character from COS Quest and at this point I use it for e v e r y t h i n g. I'm very involved with Odyssey of the Mind and my main hobby is designer board and card games. I'm loud, overly energetic at times, and am known for a continuous stream of jokes... they are mostly bad jokes, but every once in a while I pull a good one off.

Now I have some questions that I know friendly Larpers will be glad to help me with. I read the Newbie pages on the website, skimmed the rules, and lurked the forum a little bit so hopefully my questions aren't too stupid.

- Combat: The website said that this is not "tap-block" combat. Granted, it's been a while. However, tap-block is what I'm accustomed to. Does it turn out being completely different? Am I going to get crushed for a while? If that's the case, that's okay. It's not like I'm planning to do anything but NPC for a while. I'm just curious how badly I'm going to perform.

- Sleepin: If I'm able to make it in October, I will be coming solo. I might be able to drag my fiance along at some point, but she's not up for the initial exploration. How do I go about securing a bed? Is there just a thread in the forum? Is there always a few extra places? I just don't want to drive 2 hours and then have issues with having a place to sleep