Kingdoms of Novitas Forums: How to Measure Flex in Weapons - Kingdoms of Novitas Forums

• 2 Pages +

How to Measure Flex in Weapons Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is online   hivemind 

• PR Nightmare
  • PipPip
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Interests:Games, IT, my wife, your mom...

Posted 18 January 2009 - 06:49 PM

So, to start off, let me say that I'm not an engineer. I pretended to be one for a year of college before I moved on to IT stuff, and I think of myself as a logical person with a good grounding in scientific method. But, I'm not an engineer.

I'm trying to figure out an intelligent way to explain how flexible a weapon is, mostly so that I can impart useful and accurate information to my customers, both in person and on the (eventual) website I'll have up. Here's what I've come up with, and I'd like to know if this seems useful to anyone, or if I just spent six hours weighing, measuring, and "flexing" weapons for no good reason.

Basically, I figure that as long as whatever method I'm using to measure flex remains uniform and consistent, the data produced will be useful. Here's what I've done.

I clamp the weapon onto a bench with two clamps. The edge of the bench is where the "holdable" part of the weapon ends, that is, the end of the hilt wrap in most cases, but sometimes where I can feel the hard hilt end and the foam begin. Next to the weapon, there is a 5' level clamped in place, sticking out off the end of the table. There's a metal framing square hanging off the end of the level, giving me a vertical ruler to measure with.

I line up the tip of the weapon with the ruler, and note where it lines up. Then, I hang a 2 pound weight from the tip of the weapon using a leather strappy thing I built. I then measure again, and see how many inches the tip dropped. This is the "flex".