Site Index | > Item Rules | > Weapon Abilities | > Mage Blade Weapons


A mageblade is a special ability that can be given to weapons, either permanently when crafting a weapon, or temporarily with effects such as the mageblade spell. When someone with a weapon with the mageblade property cast a spell that would create tag bags they may alternatively deliver the spell through the weapon's next successful hit instead of dealing that weapon's normal damage. When channeling a spell through a mageblade you do not require a free hand if the mageblade is in hand.

The call for using a mageblade is the call the spell would have make followed by 'strike'. The number of tag bags the spell would have generated is the number of times you can make that 'strike' also known as charges. These charges must be used within one minute or they are lost. Each successful hit uses one charge even if the target calls "no effect" or you call something other than the strike.

A mageblade may channel tag bag range spells from any source, such as those from wands, scrolls, imbued magic objects, and anything else that functions by allowing you to cast a spell.

Spells that generate a 'poison' call never count as a spell and can never be channelled through a mageblade.

Related Rules

Strike Calls

A strike call indicates that a weapon attack is inflicting a spell's effects instead of its normal damage. 'Strike' attacks always deal a fixed amount of damage based on the spell being used instead of your standard weapon damage. Things that improve your weapon damage have no impact on an attack with the 'strike' call.

Strike calls may never be made blunt even if they come from a melee weapon.

Changing Weapon Calls

When an effect allows you to call for something different with a weapon than you would normally call, you must choose which call to use when you make your attacks. If the something different only applies to the "next successful hit", and you choose not to use it when you make that hit, the effect is wasted.

For example if a character who deals 2 damage with each melee attack has a sword that deals "Nature" damage and they apply Scorpion's Kiss to that weapon so that it can deal "poison weaken" damage for the next successful hit. When they make that successful hit against an opponent they can choose to call "2 nature" or "poison weaken". They may not call "2 Nature poison weaken". Regardless of the effect they choose, the Scorpion's Kiss will be expended after that successful hit.

Poison Attacks Are Not Spells

When the poison call is added to any attack even a spell effect such as pin or stun that attack no longer counts as a spell. This means that immunities to spell or compulsion effects no longer apply. The attack is now a poison effect.

Categories: Weapon Rules | Strike Calls | Item Rules

<< Weapon Abilities | Item Rules | Masterwork Weapons >>

<< Weapon Feature Craft Point Costs | Production and Crafting Rules | Master's Blades >>

Page last modified on January 24, 2019, at 07:40 PM
Powered by PmWiki