Site Index | > Item Rules | > Rods


A rod is a handheld scepter that allows the wielder to cast a single spell that has been imbued into the rod using the magic power points of the caster. This removes the requirement for the caster to know the spell. In all other ways a rod follows the rules for casting a spell, including requiring a free hand other than the one the rod is held in. The prop for a rod must be between 18 and 36 inches in length. Characters are limited to one rod.

Rods may not be used in combat as a weapon.

Related Rules

Casting Spells

In order to cast a spell a character must have at least as many magic power points as the cost (which by default is the level) of the spell they want to cast. They must also know the spell and have at least one hand free. If the target of a spell is an object the caster has in hand, the character no longer requires a free hand. Characters with both arms wounded cannot cast spells. Gear carried or worn never hinders casting by itself. Some spells may have additional specific requirements detailed in the spell's entry.

If these conditions are met, the player will then make a incantation for the spell. After this has happened the magic power points for the spell are consumed and the spell is successfully cast. If the spell requires a flag you must provide it at this time.

Spells have ranges to determine what they can affect. You are not required to be able to see your target in order to cast a spell.

  • Tag Bag: This is the longest range a spell can have. These spells are delivered by a tag bag which is thrown at the target.
  • Touch: A touch effect is delivered to a willing or helpless target by "touch"
  • Self: A spell with a range of self can only benefit the caster. When a consumable is made from a spell with a range of self, only someone who knows that spell can use that consumable.

All spells have a duration they will last. When the duration runs out the effect is over. Each spell's description will indicate how long that spell lasts. Spells last their full duration unless the effect is dispelled first. A caster can voluntarily dispel a spell they have cast at any time by touching the spell's target. If the target is conscious and unwilling to have the effect dispelled then they may not be dispelled this way. If the caster of a spell dies, spells they have cast continue functioning as normal. A spell that is dispelled ends immediately as if its duration ran out.

After a spell is successfully cast you may need to explain to the target what effect the spell will have. Combat related spells typically explain what they do through combat calls made, other spells may require more explanation because players should not be required to know the effects of every possible spell. Try to be especially patient when explaining effects to new players who may be required to break character in order to understand what effect a spell will have.

Categories Item Rules | Crafted Items

<< Ritual Skills | Item Rules | Scrolls >>

<< Nature Immunity From Items | Production and Crafting Rules | Wands >>

Page last modified on June 05, 2019, at 06:59 PM
Powered by PmWiki