Scroll Rules

Site Index | > Item Rules | > Scrolls

Scroll Rules

A scroll is a one use consumable item. Characters with the read magic skill can cast the spell listed on the scroll without spending any magic power points.

Written items such as scrolls, rituals, and tomes have a fixed incant written down on them. When using one of these items you must read the incant exactly as it appears in writing. This requires knowing the appropriate language for texts not written in common. Even if you have these words memorized you are required to have enough light to read the text by and are expected to role-play reading the text from the paper.

Scrolls follow all the other normal steps to casting a spell.

You can only use scrolls that contain a range of self if you know the spell on the scroll. When you cast such a scroll you treat it as if you cast the spell regardless of who wrote the scroll (this is important for ley lines).

Related Rules

Consumable Items

A consumable is an item that has a limited number of uses. Generally consumable items can only be used once but some items will specify a higher number of times they can be used. Sharing consumables is only permitted if the consumable has multiple uses, each person using the item counts as one use.

Consumables will always be represented by a piece of paper from logistics that has an official stamp on it. These papers will then be inside whatever container or prop represents the consumable item.

Most consumable items require that you role-play out using the item. At minimum to use an item it has to be in hand (either in your hand, or easily and instantly accessible by a free hand) to use. Once the item is used, you must represent the consumption of the item by destroying the official paper from logistics included with the item.

Casting Spells

In order to cast a spell a character must have at least as many magic power points as the cost (which by default is the level) of the spell they want to cast. They must also know the spell and have at least one hand free. If the target of a spell is an object the caster has in hand, the character no longer requires a free hand. Characters with both arms wounded cannot cast spells. Gear carried or worn never hinders casting by itself. Some spells may have additional specific requirements detailed in the spell's entry.

If these conditions are met, the player will then make a incantation for the spell. After this has happened the magic power points for the spell are consumed and the spell is successfully cast. If the spell requires a flag you must provide it at this time.

Spells have ranges to determine what they can affect. You are not required to be able to see your target in order to cast a spell.

  • Tag Bag: This is the longest range a spell can have. These spells are delivered by a tag bag which is thrown at the target.
  • Touch: A touch effect is delivered to a willing or helpless target by "touch"
  • Self: A spell with a range of self can only benefit the caster. When a consumable is made from a spell with a range of self, only someone who knows that spell can use that consumable.

All spells have a duration they will last. When the duration runs out the effect is over. Each spell's description will indicate how long that spell lasts. Spells last their full duration unless the effect is dispelled first. A caster can voluntarily dispel a spell they have cast at any time by touching the spell's target. If the target is conscious and unwilling to have the effect dispelled then they may not be dispelled this way. If the caster of a spell dies, spells they have cast continue functioning as normal. A spell that is dispelled ends immediately as if its duration ran out.

After a spell is successfully cast you may need to explain to the target what effect the spell will have. Combat related spells typically explain what they do through combat calls made, other spells may require more explanation because players should not be required to know the effects of every possible spell. Try to be especially patient when explaining effects to new players who may be required to break character in order to understand what effect a spell will have.

Scroll Production

Characters with the scribe scroll skill can produce scrolls using production points. A character only spends production points when you first check-in for an event. In order to create items you'll have to learn to use the preproduction system.

To produce a scroll it costs 1 production point and 1 coin per level of the spell being stored in the finished scroll. In addition to the scribe scroll skill the producing character must know the spell being put onto the scroll and have enough magic power points to cast that spell at least once.

If the spell is at least 4th level, producing a scroll requires a ritual quill. When the spell is a 5th level spell producing a scroll also requires one use of ritual ink.

Players may also choose to produce scroll paper in either one point or two point versions.

Categories: Item Rules | Terminology

<< Rods | Item Rules Index | Tinkering Items >>

<< Rods | Item Rules | Tinkering Items >>

Page last modified on April 03, 2017, at 04:06 PM
Powered by PmWiki