Tome Rules

Site Index | > Item Rules | > Tomes

Tome Rules

Tomes are a type of spellbook that contain various spells from a single school of magic. A tome allows a character to cast spells they do not know. When you use a tome the spells are not consumed and can be reused any number of times. In order to use a tome a character must have the read magic skill and know at least one spell from the school of magic contained in the tome.

Written items such as scrolls, rituals, and tomes have a fixed incant written down on them. When using one of these items you must read the incant exactly as it appears in writing. This requires knowing the appropriate language for texts not written in common. Even if you have these words memorized you are required to have enough light to read the text by and are expected to role-play reading the text from the paper.

In all other ways using a tome follows the rules for casting a spell.

Related Rules

Casting Spells

In order to cast a spell a character must have at least as many magic power points as the cost (which by default is the level) of the spell they want to cast. They must also know the spell and have at least one hand free. If the target of a spell is an object the caster has in hand, the character no longer requires a free hand. Characters with both arms wounded cannot cast spells. Gear carried or worn never hinders casting by itself. Some spells may have additional specific requirements detailed in the spell's entry.

If these conditions are met, the player will then make a incantation for the spell. After this has happened the magic power points for the spell are consumed and the spell is successfully cast. If the spell requires a flag you must provide it at this time.

Spells have ranges to determine what they can affect. You are not required to be able to see your target in order to cast a spell.

  • Tag Bag: This is the longest range a spell can have. These spells are delivered by a tag bag which is thrown at the target.
  • Touch: A touch effect is delivered to a willing or helpless target by "touch"
  • Self: A spell with a range of self can only benefit the caster. When a consumable is made from a spell with a range of self, only someone who knows that spell can use that consumable.

All spells have a duration they will last. When the duration runs out the effect is over. Each spell's description will indicate how long that spell lasts. Spells last their full duration unless the effect is dispelled first. A caster can voluntarily dispel a spell they have cast at any time by touching the spell's target. If the target is conscious and unwilling to have the effect dispelled then they may not be dispelled this way. If the caster of a spell dies, spells they have cast continue functioning as normal. A spell that is dispelled ends immediately as if its duration ran out.

After a spell is successfully cast you may need to explain to the target what effect the spell will have. Combat related spells typically explain what they do through combat calls made, other spells may require more explanation because players should not be required to know the effects of every possible spell. Try to be especially patient when explaining effects to new players who may be required to break character in order to understand what effect a spell will have.

Categories: Item Rules | Terminology

<< Tinkering Items | Item Rules Index | Traps >>

<< Tinkering Items | Item Rules | Traps >>

Page last modified on April 03, 2017, at 04:07 PM
Powered by PmWiki