|Site Index | > Magic Rules | > Spells | > Enchantment School | > Ablative Armor|
|Prerequisite:||Level 3 Enchantment Spell|
|Duration:||Game day or until discharged|
|Brief Description:||Gives worn armor 2 points of monstrous armor.|
Ablative armor improves worn armor by adding two monstrous armor points. These two armor points of automatically take any damage they are eligible to take before any magic armor you might have. Because this spell doesn't actually change your armor's number of physical armor points (and therefore cannot be mended) these 2 monstrous armor points are not subject to the physical armor cap.
Monstrous armor points are gained from specific types of worn armor. These points takes damage just like ordinary armor points do but reduce any damage dealt to them without the "Slay" call to one. Only the physical armor points benefit from this damage reduction, damage dealt to magic armor and body are not reduced.
Armor is something that a character must physically wear to benefit from. It must pass safety inspection to ensure safety for both the user and other combatants. Characters in armor must still also wear appropriate costuming. This includes wearing racial make up under helmets. Wearing multiple armors at once will only give you the bonus of your best armor.
Different armors grants between 1 and 4 points of protection in the form of armor points also called physical armor points. These points of protection only apply to where the armor is physically on your body. A hit to a spot where the armor is not covering cannot be applied to your armor points. Should armor be made of ineffective material or be visibly damaged it may have its armor points downgraded. If a section of the body is at least 75% covered it is considered fully covered.
You can gain an additional universal armor point for a helmet. Because the head is not a legal hit location, the point of armor from a helmet works like body and covers any possible hit location. The point from a helmet can break the cap on armor points making the maximum possible benefit from armor 5 armor points.
Half-Plate and Plate armors count as monstrous armor. This benefit only applies in the areas where the armor is worth 3 or 4 armor points, and limbs cannot benefit from this if the armor on a player's torso isn't of the same quality.
One point armors include:
- A full costume approved by staff. (may not be combined with a helmet or other armor)
- Studded Leather (Leather too thin to count as light leather must have studs to count as anything)
- Light Leather
- Fur (Real animal hides with the fur on, unless the leather itself counts for a higher value)
- Brigandine (Light leather backing with light plates)
Two point armors include:
- Studded Light Leather
- Heavy Leather
- Scale Armor/ Lamellar (Overlapping light leather pieces)
- Brigandine (Leather or light leather with heavy leather plates)
Three point armors include:
- Studded Heavy Leather
- Scale Armor/ Lamellar (Overlapping heavy leather pieces)
- Chain Armor (Interlocking butted or riveted metal wire)
- Metal Scale or Lamellar Armor
- Brigandine (Heavy leather backing with heavy leather plates)
- Brigandine (Any backing iwth metal plates)
- Half-Plate (Metal armor, no articulated joints, up to 25% chain/leather)
- Lorica Segmentata is half-plate armor.
- A 2-piece back-and-breast is half-plate armor
- Half-Plate armor counts as monstrous armor.
Four point armors include:
- Articulated Plate Armor
- Plate armor with flexible joints that can bend and move with the movements of the player while still providing complete coverage. Must be a complete harness. For example articulated arms would contain a full vambrace, articulated elbow, rerebrace, and pauldrons.
- Wearing incomplete articulated plate (such as wearing a back-and-breast without fauld, tassets, and a gorget) make it half plate armor.
- Plate armor counts as monstrous armor.
If you are hit by an attack with the "slay" call that damage will consume the 2 bonus armor first then apply any further damage normally. It will be applied first to any magic armor you might have before continuing to consume physical armor. You will not benefit from monstrous armor for any further hits as it has been consumed.