Site Index | > Magic Rules | > Spells | > Nature School | > Banish

Type: Nature
Level: 4
Prerequisite: Level 3 Nature Spell
Duration: 10 minutes
Range: Tag bag
Target: Character hit
Flag Required: None
Dispel: Yes (if caster can see through dissipate)
Brief Description: Creates a dart which inflicts 'banish'


The banish spell creates a single tag bag that inflicts the 'banish' call.

Related Rules

Banish Calls

Banish is an effect that forcefully dissipates the person affected for 10 minutes. The target cannot voluntarily dispel this dissipate effect.

The banish call never inflicts damage.

Unless modified by another call (such as poison) banish is a nature spell effect.

Dissipate Calls

Dissipate is an effect that allows a character to escape from a dangerous situation by becoming invisible and intangible.

After being affected by dissipate a character they must raise a blue flag over their head and then call "dissipate". For up to 10 minutes maximum, as long as the blue flag is held up the character is dissipated. While dissipated the character can't move but others no longer "know where they are" (and should role-play accordingly). When the player lowers the blue flag the spell is voluntarily dispelled. Characters can always voluntarily dispel a dissipate effect as long as it was not caused by a banish call. A character that is dissipated can only be dispelled by a character who has a special ability allowing them to see someone who is affected by dissipate.

For safety reasons you should never dissipate while in front of a group of people who are running, or where you could otherwise be a trip or collision hazard. If you dissipate in such a situation it is ok to leave a marker such as a tag bag to indicate where you were and to step aside.

If a character uses the detect life call near you while you are under the effects of dissipate you still answer even though you are immaterial.

Tag Bags

Tag bags are used as a form of attack for spells, items, and occasionally for monster abilities. When a tag bag hits a friendly target it still has its full effect. Tag bags that miss still expend a use of whatever attack was being delivered. Only the first object hit is affected by a tag bag, so if a tag bag bounced off the ground and then hits a target, that target is not affected.

A player can only throw one tag bag at a time unless an ability allows them to throw more than one. When an ability allows a player to throw more than one tag bag, a player that is hit by multiple tag bags at the same time only takes the effect of that attack once no matter how many tag bags hit them.

A player may not carry tag bags in their hands unless they have cast a spell within the last minute that has a range of tag bag. This is meant to ensure that if you see someone holding a tag bag, it is clear they have an active spell (they are "armed" with a magical ball of eldritch energy). Tag bags created by a spell become inert after 1 minute if not thrown.

In order to deliver a spell with a range of tag bag you MUST throw the tag bag, you may not reach out and touch the person with the tag bag.

Spells and some items use tag bags. If a tag bag makes contact with anything worn by a player it counts as hitting that player where ever that item makes contact with the player (so arm for a melee weapon, torso for a cloak). Tag bags never hit too light. Although tag bags should not be aimed at the head if they happen to hit a player's head the player should take the hit to their torso.

If a shield is struck by a tag bag what happens is based on what kind of attack struck the shield. When the tag bag represents a spell or other magical effect you take any effects the tag bag would inflict to the arm holding the shield. When a tag bag deals normal damage with no additional calls it may be fully blocked by a shield preventing that damage with no further effect. A shield may fully block any attack that makes the poison call, preventing any effect to the bearer. When a shield blocks an attack with the acid call it prevents the effect of that attack to the bearer but this has an effect on the shield, which could become destroyed.

Grounding Calls

A target struck by a grounding call is unable to utilize extra-planar movement effects or magical disguises.

Grounding prevents the following spells and effects from happening:

Grounding dispels the following effects:

The grounding call never inflicts damage.

Unless modified by another call (such as poison) grounding is a nature spell effect.

Categories: Nature Spells | Spells | Level Four Spells | Banish Calls

Page last modified on May 01, 2017, at 05:20 PM
Powered by PmWiki