Creeping Rot

Site Index | > Magic Rules | > Spells | > Necromancy School | > Creeping Rot

Creeping Rot
Type: Necromancy
Level: 2
Prerequisite: Level 1 Necromancy Spell
Duration: 10 minutes or 1 minute
Range: Touch or tag bag
Target: Weapon or creature(s) hit
Flag Required: None or weapon
Dispel: Yes or n/a
Brief Description: Enhance a weapon or create two darts to deal 4 Poison damage

Creeping Rot

The creeping rot spell can be cast in one of two ways.

It can be cast to create two tag bags that each inflict 4 "poison" damage. When cast this way the spell has a range of tag bag, a duration of 1 minute, and is not applicable to be dispelled.

Alternately it may be cast to change a weapons damage to poison. When cast this way the spell has a range of touch, duration of 10 minutes, and is affected by dispel magic.

Related Rules

Poison Calls

When a player is successfully hit by an attack with the "poison" call they are now considered poisoned until the condition is cured. Typically the poisoned condition is removed by the spell Purify Spirit or an item such as a Theriac or a Catholicon. A character who has the poisoned condition cannot have wounds or their body points healed until the poisoned condition is removed.

When the poison call is added to any attack even a spell effect such as pin or stun that attack no longer counts as a spell. This means that immunities to spell or compulsion effects no longer apply. The attack is now a poison effect.

A shield may fully block any attack that makes the poison call, preventing any effect to the bearer.

Tag Bags

Tag bags are used as a form of attack for spells, items, and occasionally for monster abilities. When a tag bag hits a friendly target it still has its full effect. Tag bags that miss still expend a use of whatever attack was being delivered. Only the first object hit is affected by a tag bag, so if a tag bag bounced off the ground and then hits a target, that target is not affected.

A player can only throw one tag bag at a time unless an ability allows them to throw more than one. When an ability allows a player to throw more than one tag bag, a player that is hit by multiple tag bags at the same time only takes the effect of that attack once no matter how many tag bags hit them.

A player may not carry tag bags in their hands unless they have cast a spell within the last minute that has a range of tag bag. This is meant to ensure that if you see someone holding a tag bag, it is clear they have an active spell (they are "armed" with a magical ball of eldritch energy). Tag bags created by a spell become inert after 1 minute if not thrown.

In order to deliver a spell with a range of tag bag you MUST throw the tag bag, you may not reach out and touch the person with the tag bag.

Spells and some items use tag bags. If a tag bag makes contact with anything worn by a player it counts as hitting that player where ever that item makes contact with the player (so arm for a melee weapon, torso for a cloak). Tag bags never hit too light. Although tag bags should not be aimed at the head if they happen to hit a player's head the player should take the hit to their torso.

If a shield is struck by a tag bag what happens is based on what kind of attack struck the shield. When the tag bag represents a spell or other magical effect you take any effects the tag bag would inflict to the arm holding the shield. When a tag bag deals normal damage with no additional calls it may be fully blocked by a shield preventing that damage with no further effect. A shield may fully block any attack that makes the poison call, preventing any effect to the bearer. When a shield blocks an attack with the acid call it prevents the effect of that attack to the bearer but this has an effect on the shield, which could become destroyed.

Changing Weapon Calls

When an effect allows you to call for something different with a weapon than you would normally call, you must choose which call to use when you make your attacks. If the something different only applies to the "next successful hit", and you choose not to use it when you make that hit, the effect is wasted.

For example if a character who deals 2 damage with each melee attack has a sword that deals "Nature" damage and they apply Scorpion's Kiss to that weapon so that it can deal "poison weaken" damage for the next successful hit. When they make that successful hit against an opponent they can choose to call "2 nature" or "poison weaken". They may not call "2 Nature poison weaken". Regardless of the effect they choose, the Scorpion's Kiss will be expended after that successful hit.

Categories: Necromancy Spells | Spells | Level Two Spells | Poison Calls

Page last modified on May 02, 2017, at 11:23 AM
Powered by PmWiki