Elemental Dart

Site Index | > Magic Rules | > Spells | > Nature School | > Elemental Dart

Elemental Dart
Type: Nature
Level: 3
Prerequisite: Level 2 Nature Spell
Duration: Instant
Range: Tag bag
Target: Character(s) hit
Flag Required: None
Dispel: n/a
Brief Description: Creates either two darts of 4 'nature' damage, or one dart of 4 'primal' damage.

Elemental Dart

Elemental dart allows the caster to choose from one of two possible effects. The first option is to create two tag bags that deal 4 "nature" damage. Alternately the character can choose to create one tag bag that inflicts 4 "primal" damage.

Related Rules

Nature Calls

Nature is a combat call that only has special meaning if the target has damage requirement: nature or kill condition:nature which allows the wielder to inflict damage or kill the target respectively.

Primal Calls

Primal is a special combat call that also counts as both a "nature" call and a "magic" call if those calls would be beneficial. Primal has a special meaning if the target has damage requirement or a kill condition requiring: magic, nature or primal; allowing the attacker to inflict damage or kill the target respectively.

Primal damage does not count as being nature or magic damage when it would be disadvantageous. Immunity to magic or nature damage does not prevent primal damage.

Tag Bags

Tag bags are used as a form of attack for spells, items, and occasionally for monster abilities. When a tag bag hits a friendly target it still has its full effect. Tag bags that miss still expend a use of whatever attack was being delivered. Only the first object hit is affected by a tag bag, so if a tag bag bounced off the ground and then hits a target, that target is not affected.

A player can only throw one tag bag at a time unless an ability allows them to throw more than one. When an ability allows a player to throw more than one tag bag, a player that is hit by multiple tag bags at the same time only takes the effect of that attack once no matter how many tag bags hit them.

A player may not carry tag bags in their hands unless they have cast a spell within the last minute that has a range of tag bag. This is meant to ensure that if you see someone holding a tag bag, it is clear they have an active spell (they are "armed" with a magical ball of eldritch energy). Tag bags created by a spell become inert after 1 minute if not thrown.

In order to deliver a spell with a range of tag bag you MUST throw the tag bag, you may not reach out and touch the person with the tag bag.

Spells and some items use tag bags. If a tag bag makes contact with anything worn by a player it counts as hitting that player where ever that item makes contact with the player (so arm for a melee weapon, torso for a cloak). Tag bags never hit too light. Although tag bags should not be aimed at the head if they happen to hit a player's head the player should take the hit to their torso.

If a shield is struck by a tag bag what happens is based on what kind of attack struck the shield. When the tag bag represents a spell or other magical effect you take any effects the tag bag would inflict to the arm holding the shield. When a tag bag deals normal damage with no additional calls it may be fully blocked by a shield preventing that damage with no further effect. A shield may fully block any attack that makes the poison call, preventing any effect to the bearer. When a shield blocks an attack with the acid call it prevents the effect of that attack to the bearer but this has an effect on the shield, which could become destroyed.

Categories: Nature Spells | Spells | Level Three Spells | Nature Calls | Primal Calls

Page last modified on May 01, 2017, at 05:17 PM
Powered by PmWiki