Lesser Command Undead

Site Index | > Magic Rules | > Spells | > Necromancy School | > Lesser Command Undead

Lesser Command Undead
Type: Necromancy
Level: 4
Prerequisite: Level 3 Necromancy Spell
Duration: 10 minutes
Range: Tag bag
Target: Lesser undead hit
Flag Required: None
Dispel: Yes
Brief Description: Creates four darts which cause 'command lesser undead'

Lesser Command Undead

The lesser command undead spell creates four tag bag of necromantic power that call for "Command lesser undead". Lesser undead are typically the mindless servants of necromancers or more powerful (and frequently intelligent) greater undead creatures.

Related Rules

Command Calls

A command call causes its victim to follow one of four orders from the command's source. A command call lasts for ten minutes. Most command calls have limits on what type of creature it can affect. If the call includes a creature type after the word command, only that type of creature is affected. For example if you are hit by a "command lesser undead" attack you will only be affected if you are playing a lesser undead.

The four basic orders that can be issued to the controlled being are: “attack”, “defend”, “move”, or "stop". A character affected by a command effect doesn't know in-character that they are being controlled and must role-play to the best of their ability following orders as if the order were their own idea.

When orders other than the four basic orders are issued, the person being commanded should exercise reasonable judgement on how to comply. If the spontaneous order is something the player is uncomfortable doing they are not required to carry out that command. This should not be seen as an excuse to avoid doing something you don't want to do in-character, but rather is specifically related to doing things you don't want to do out-of-character.

Attack: The attack order allows the command's source to point at a target and compels the controlled creature to attack at once. The controlled creature will attack the target without question or concern for its own preservation and will use every available power and ability to carry out the attack. It is possible to word the attack order in a fashion that will compel the controlled creature to attack multiple targets. For example the source could order the creature to “attack all humans”.

Defend: A defend order allows the command's source to point at a target, such as a person, and compels the controlled creature to defend that target. In this case the controlled creature will attack anything that comes near the object or person it was ordered to defend, and may never move more than five feet from the object it was ordered to defend. Like an attack order, it is possible to word the defend order in a fashion that will compel the controlled being to defend multiple targets or large areas. For example, the command's source could order the controlled creature to, “defend all living things in the town”.

Move: A move order simply compels the controlled creature to move in a direction of the command source’s choice for the duration of the effect. The controlled creature will move at any speed the source desires that it is physically able to do and will only walk/run/float when under orders to move. It is legal for the command's source to order the controlled being to follow them or walk in front of them. The creature will not perform even the simplest of actions such as the opening of a door or dropping of weapons, but will move into a situation that might cause it harm or injury, such as ordering a waspoid to walk into an open pit?.

Stop: The stop order compels the controlled creature to halt a particular action, as demanded by the command's source. Some examples include: "stop talking", "stop moving", "stop killing my friends", and so on.

The controlled creature will not attack the source of the command that controls it, unless for some reason the command's source orders it to do so.

The command call never inflicts damage.

Unless modified by another call (such as poison) command is a spell effect.

Tag Bags

Tag bags are used as a form of attack for spells, items, and occasionally for monster abilities. When a tag bag hits a friendly target it still has its full effect. Tag bags that miss still expend a use of whatever attack was being delivered. Only the first object hit is affected by a tag bag, so if a tag bag bounced off the ground and then hits a target, that target is not affected.

A player can only throw one tag bag at a time unless an ability allows them to throw more than one. When an ability allows a player to throw more than one tag bag, a player that is hit by multiple tag bags at the same time only takes the effect of that attack once no matter how many tag bags hit them.

A player may not carry tag bags in their hands unless they have cast a spell within the last minute that has a range of tag bag. This is meant to ensure that if you see someone holding a tag bag, it is clear they have an active spell (they are "armed" with a magical ball of eldritch energy). Tag bags created by a spell become inert after 1 minute if not thrown.

In order to deliver a spell with a range of tag bag you MUST throw the tag bag, you may not reach out and touch the person with the tag bag.

Spells and some items use tag bags. If a tag bag makes contact with anything worn by a player it counts as hitting that player where ever that item makes contact with the player (so arm for a melee weapon, torso for a cloak). Tag bags never hit too light. Although tag bags should not be aimed at the head if they happen to hit a player's head the player should take the hit to their torso.

If a shield is struck by a tag bag what happens is based on what kind of attack struck the shield. When the tag bag represents a spell or other magical effect you take any effects the tag bag would inflict to the arm holding the shield. When a tag bag deals normal damage with no additional calls it may be fully blocked by a shield preventing that damage with no further effect. A shield may fully block any attack that makes the poison call, preventing any effect to the bearer. When a shield blocks an attack with the acid call it prevents the effect of that attack to the bearer but this has an effect on the shield, which could become destroyed.

Categories: Necromancy Spells | Spells | Level Four Spells | Command Calls

Page last modified on May 01, 2017, at 05:46 PM
Powered by PmWiki