Primal Form

Site Index | > Magic Rules | > Spells | > Nature School | > Primal Form

Primal Form
Type: Nature
Level: 5
Prerequisite: Level 4 Nature Spell
Duration: Game day
Range: Touch
Target: Character
Flag Required: Person
Dispel: Yes
Brief Description: Target touched is immune to nature damage, and their weapons hit for primal damage

Primal Form

A character who is enhanced by primal form becomes attuned with the ancient forces of the elements. Their skin hardens like stone, with eyes burning like lava, their motions are fluid like a rolling river, and they strike foes with gale-force might.

The character is immune to nature damage for the duration of this spell. In addition, the character's weapons can deal primal damage.

The character can still use abilities and items that make other calls, such as using an elven steel weapon, but under no circumstances can the character attack for normal damage because of all the elemental energy surrounding them.

Related Rules

Incompatible Immunities

No combination of effects can make you invulnerable to all damage. The last effect received that would create an invulnerable situation is automatically prevented.

The following spells and effects may never stack with each other:

Nature Calls

Nature is a combat call that only has special meaning if the target has damage requirement: nature or kill condition:nature which allows the wielder to inflict damage or kill the target respectively.

Primal Calls

Primal is a special combat call that also counts as both a "nature" call and a "magic" call if those calls would be beneficial. Primal has a special meaning if the target has damage requirement or a kill condition requiring: magic, nature or primal; allowing the attacker to inflict damage or kill the target respectively.

Primal damage does not count as being nature or magic damage when it would be disadvantageous. Immunity to magic or nature damage does not prevent primal damage.

Changing Weapon Calls

When an effect allows you to call for something different with a weapon than you would normally call, you must choose which call to use when you make your attacks. If the something different only applies to the "next successful hit", and you choose not to use it when you make that hit, the effect is wasted.

For example if a character who deals 2 damage with each melee attack has a sword that deals "Nature" damage and they apply Scorpion's Kiss to that weapon so that it can deal "poison weaken" damage for the next successful hit. When they make that successful hit against an opponent they can choose to call "2 nature" or "poison weaken". They may not call "2 Nature poison weaken". Regardless of the effect they choose, the Scorpion's Kiss will be expended after that successful hit.

Categories: Nature Spells | Spells | Level Five Spells | Immunities | No Effect Calls | Primal Calls

Page last modified on May 02, 2017, at 10:50 AM
Powered by PmWiki